Energy Centers: The Three Dan Tians

Dan TiensAccording to Chinese Medicine there are three main energy centers in the body.  Three is a number often used to describe or to simplify the complexity of our human experience. In Christianity, the aspects of God are described as Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. In Chinese metaphysics, the components of the universe are described as Heaven, Earth, and Man. In the human body, Chinese medical theory sees three “Dan Tians” (pronounced dahn tee-ens), or energy centers, corresponding to the physical, emotional/mental, and spiritual aspects of a person’s being. These vital energy centers are located along the midline of the body and store energy much the way batteries do.


The Upper Dan Tian relates to our spiritual being. It roughly comprises the upper and posterior portions of the skull. In Western medicine, the Upper Dan Tian corresponds to the central nervous system, which, through nerve impulses, controls the functions of all the organs.


The Middle Dan Tian relates to our mental/emotional state and is associated with the heart center in the middle of the chest.


The Lower Dan Tian relates to the physical aspect of our being and is located about an inch below the navel in the center of the body. This is the center most people refer to when they speak of “the Dan Tian.” As all physical energy is stored and used from this region, we will refer to it often in our Qigong practice.

Here is a Qigong practice to open your three Dan Tians.


1 thought on “Energy Centers: The Three Dan Tians”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Build the Healthy, Happy, Pain-Free Life You Deserve

For a limited time I'm offering my FREE personality assessment I use with clients suffering from physical and emotional pain.  You do NOT need to live in chronic pain! Your body CAN heal naturally and you CAN overcome pain, stress and trauma.  Let me show you how!